Announcement of the 2022 National Sports Awards; Odisha Ace Hockey Player Deep Grace Ekka to Receive Arjuna Award

New Delhi: The Ministry of Youth and Sports announced the National Sports Awards 2022 today. Winners will receive their awards from the President of India at a specially organized ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 30th November 2022 (Wednesday) at 4:00 PM.

As 25 sportsmen will receive Arjuna awards for their outstanding performance in sports and games 2022. Sta hockey player from Odisha, Deep Grace Ekka is also among the 25 Arjuna winners.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after careful consideration, the Government has decided to award prizes to the following athletes, coaches and entities:

(I)Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2022

S. No. Athlete’s name Discipline
1. Shri Sharath Kamal Ashanta Table tennis

(ii)Arjuna Awards for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games 2022

S. No. Athlete’s name Discipline
1. Ms Seema Punia Athletics
2. Shri Eldhose Paul Athletics
3. Shri Avinash Mukund Sand Athletics
4. Shri Lakshya Sen Badminton
5. Shri Prannoy HS Badminton
6. Shri Amit Boxing
seven. Ms Nikhat Zareen Boxing
8. Ms. Bhakti Pradip Kulkarni Chess
9. Shri R Praggnanandhaa Chess
ten. Ms Deep Grace Ekka Hockey
11. Ms Shushila Devi Judo
12. Ms Sakshi Kumari Kabaddi
13. Ms Nayan Moni Saikia lawn bowl
14. Shri Sagar Kailas Ovhalkar Mallakhamb
15. Mrs. Elavenil Valarivan Shooting
16. Shri Omprakash Mitharval Shooting
17. Ms Sreeja Akula Table tennis
18. Shri Vikas Thakur Bodybuilding
19. Ms Anshu Struggle
20. Ms Sarita Struggle
21. Shri Parveen wushu
22. Mrs. Manasi Girishchandra Joshi Para badminton
23. Shri Tarun Dhillon Para badminton
24. Shri Swapnil Sanjay Patil Para-swimming
25. Ms Jerlin Anika J deaf badminton

(iii)Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games 2022

A. Regular Category:

S. No. Coach Name (S/Shri/Ms) Discipline
1. Shri Jiwanjot Singh Teja Archery
2. Shri Mohammad Ali Qamar Boxing
3. Mrs. Suma Siddharth Shirur Para Shooting
4. Shri Sujeet Maan Struggle

B Lifetime Category:

S.No. Coach Name (S/Shri/Ms) Discipline
1. Shri Dinesh Jawahar Lad locust
2. Shri Bimal Prafulla Ghosh Soccer
3. Sri Raj Singh Struggle

(iv)Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports and Games 2022

S. No. Athlete’s name Discipline
1. Mrs Ashwini Akkunji C. Athletics
2. Shri Dharamvir Singh Hockey
3. Shri BC Suresh Kabaddi
4. Shri Nir Bahadur Gurung Para-athletics

(v) Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2022

S. No. Category Feature recommended for RashtriyaKhel Protsahan Puruskar, 2022
1. Identification and development of budding young talents TransStadia Enterprises Private Limited
2. Promotion of sport through corporate social responsibility Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology
3. sport for development Ladakh Ski and Snowboard Association

(v)Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA) 2022:

  • Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

The National Sports Awards are presented annually to recognize and reward excellence in sport. The “Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award” is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsman in the previous four years.

The “Arjuna Award for Outstanding Performance in Sports and Games” is given for good performance in the previous four years and for displaying qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and sense of discipline.

The “Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games” is given to coaches for doing outstanding and meritorious work consistently and for enabling sportspeople to excel in international events.

The “Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games” is given to sportsmen who have contributed to sports through their performances and who continue to contribute to the promotion of the sporting event after their retirement.

‘Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar’ is awarded to corporate bodies (both in the private and public sector), sports control boards, NGOs, including sports bodies at state and national level, who have played a visible role in the promotion and development of sport.

The most successful university in the inter-university tournaments receives the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) trophy.

This year, for the first time, applications were invited online only and athletes/coaches/entities were allowed to apply themselves via a dedicated portal. A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were reviewed by the Selection Committee headed by Judge AM Khanwilkar, Retd. Judge, Supreme Court of India and made up of members of eminent sports people, people with experience in sports journalism and sports administrators.

Catherine J. Martinez