Fighting Irish 3, Badgers 2: Three stars and three key plays in Wisconsin men’s hockey loss to 11th-place Notre Dame |

Notre Dame No. 11 avoided a sweep of the University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team on Sunday, with Jesse Lansdell, Hunter Strand and Trevor Janicke scoring in a 3-2 victory in front of a small nighttime Super Bowl crowd at the Kohl Center.

The Badgers twice shot within a goal after falling 2-0 and 3-1, with Mathieu De St. Phalle and Zach Urdahl scoring.

A late rally try stalled when UW’s Roman Ahcan was called for a major elbow and committed his fourth game of misconduct of the season with 1:31 left.

Wisconsin State Journal hockey batsman Todd D. Milewski wraps up the Badgers’ 3-2 loss to No. 11 Notre Dame on Sunday, Feb. 13, 2022 at the Kohl Center.

Three stars

No. 3: De St. Phalle became the first UW player to reach double goals for the season. He had five shots.

No. 2: Janicke’s third-period goal proved crucial for the Irish.

No. 1: Matthew Galajda made 30 saves for Notre Dame.

Three key games

Strand ended a long period of Irish pressure with a wrist shot from the right circle for a 2-0 lead with 13:23 left in the second period.

De St. Phalle extended his team’s lead in goals with his 10th, bringing the Badgers to 2-1 on the power play with 3:22 left in the middle of the quarter. He didn’t catch a pass from Corson Ceulemans cleanly, but recovered to fire a shot over goalkeeper Galajda’s left shoulder and into the left circle. It was the first power-play goal allowed by Notre Dame in seven games; the Irish lead the country in terms of numerical inferiority.

Janicke’s third-period redirect of a Jake Boltmann shot for Notre Dame survived a video review to check if his stick was over the crossbar. Boltmann’s shot was going up; Janicke tipped the scales for a 3-1 Irish lead with 12:17 remaining.


The Badgers have a bye weekend before wrapping up the regular season in Minnesota on Feb. 25-26. Friday’s game starts at 8 p.m.; Saturday contest start time is TBA.


The University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team is on just its second sweep of the Big Ten in 11 tries this season when it faces No. 11 Notre Dame on Sunday at the Kohl Center (8:01 p.m., no TV ,, 1:10 p.m.).

Here are five pre-game notes and the lines:

Rewind: The Badgers snapped a six-game losing streak with a 5-3 win on Saturday. Mathieu De St. Phalle had a goal and two assists, while defenders Anthony Kehrer and Josh Ess each scored their first goals of the season.

Final: Sunday is the last home game of the season for the Badgers. They are 7-8-2 at the Kohl Center after going 10-5-1 at LaBahn Arena last season.

Change: Ryder Rolston, who is second on Notre Dame’s list with 25 points, is out after suffering an injury Saturday. It is day to day, according to a Notre Dame spokesperson. The Badgers have the same roster as Saturday.

Handle: UW scored five goals Saturday for only the second time this season. The other was Jan. 14 against Michigan State. That’s tied for the fewest times scoring five or more goals in a season in the program’s 59-year-old modern era with 2006-07 and 2014-15.

Double: Saturday was the first game of the season in which two UW defensemen scored.

Badgers (9-19-3, 5-12-1-3 Big Ten)


Carson Bantle – Brock Caufield – Mathieu De St. Phalle

Jack Gorniak – Ryder Donovan – Liam Malmquist

Roman Ahcan – Dominick Mersch – Max Johnson

Brayden Morrison/Zach Urdahl-Caden Brown-Sam Stange


Josh Ess – Corson Ceulemans

Jesper Peltonen – Anthony Kehrer

Luke LaMaster – Shay Donovan


Jared Moe

Cameron Rowe

Ben Garry

Grooves : F Owen Lindmark (injury), F Tarek Baker (injury), D Tyler Inamoto (injury), D Daniel Laatsch (injury), D Mike Vorlicky (injury), D Jake Martin (illness).

See how the Kohl Center staff built the rink the University of Wisconsin men’s hockey team will play on during the 2021-22 season.

Irish Fighter (20-9-0, 7-6-5-1 Big Ten)


Jesse Lansdell-Jake Pivonka-Trevor Janicke

Landon Slaggert – Graham Slaggert – Grant Silianoff

Solag Bakich – Cam Burke – Max Ellis

Justin Janicke – Hunter Strand – Jack Adams


Spencer Stastney – Zach Plucinski

Adam Karashik – Jake Boltman

Charlie Raith – Ryan Helliwell

Hunt Blackmun


Matthew Galajda

Ryan Bischel

Josh Graziano


Referees: Joseph Carusone and Kevin Corbett.

Linesmen: Nick Bradshaw and Sam Shikowski.

Catherine J. Martinez