Harmanpreet Singh nominated for 2021-22 FIH Hockey Player of the Year award

Star Indian drag flicker Harmanpreet Singh was named among five nominees for the Men’s Player of the Year award on Tuesday while PR Sreejesh and Savita Punia were on the shortlists of best male and female goalkeeper for FIH Hockey Star Awards 2021-22. (More hockey news)

Indian team vice-captain Harmanpreet was nominated along with two Belgians in Arthur de Sloover and Tom Boon, Germany’s Niklas Wellen and Netherlands’ Thierry Brinkman for the FIH Men’s Player of the Year award. There are no Indians in the list of players nominated for the FIH Women’s Player of the Year award.

Harmanpreet had also scooped the coveted award last year when India’s players and coaches took full honors after their historic performance at the Tokyo Olympics where the men’s team won a bronze medal for the first time after 41 years while which the women’s team lost in the bronze medal. medal game.

Men’s coach Graham Reid, Sreejesh and Savita also won last year.

The sweep of awards by the Indians in the five categories last year (2020-21) was all the rage, especially among the Belgian men’s Olympic champions.

Reid and Janneke Schopman were named to the Male and Female Coach of the Year lists respectively, while Mumtaz Khan and Sanjay were named to the Male and Female Player of the Year lists.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) said players, coaches, media and fans can cast their votes online for the nominees in the women’s and men’s categories for the best player, goalkeeper, rising star and manager. of the year, from Tuesday 6 September. ) itself until September 30.

Winners in all categories will be announced in early October.

In addition, prizes for the best referee of the year, in the men’s and women’s categories, will be awarded, which will be selected by the FIH Officials Committee.

The new voting process includes a panel of experts whose votes will count for 40% of the overall result. The votes of the national associations, represented by the captains and coaches of their respective national teams, will count for an additional 20%. Supporters and other players (20%) as well as the media (20%) will make up the remaining 40%.

The final shortlist was compiled solely by an expert panel consisting of players, former players, coaches and officials selected by each of their continental federations. Before drawing up the final shortlist, the expert panel received a long list of players and coaches based on the performance data recorded during the relevant period.

The performance of players in the FIH Professional Hockey League, FIH Women’s World Cup of Hockey, FIH Hockey Junior World Cups and Continental Championships (senior category) was considered in the nomination of players.

List of awards and nominees

FIH Player of the Year Award

Women: Felice Albers (NED), María José Granatto (ARG), Frédérique Matla (NED), Agustina Gorzelany (ARG), Georgina Oliva (ESP).

Men: Arthur de Sloover (BEL), Harmanpreet Singh (IND), Niklas Wellen (GER), Thierry Brinkman (NED), Tom Boon (BEL).

FIH Goalkeeper of the Year Award:

Women: Savita (IND), Josine Koning (NED), Belén Succi (ARG), Jocelyn Bartram (AUS), Phumelela Mbande (RSA).

Men: Loïc van Doren (BEL), PR Sreejesh (IND), Pirmin Blaak (NED), Arthur Thieffry (FRA), Alexander Stadler (GER).

FIH Rising Star of the Year Award:

Women: Charlotte Englebert (BEL), Luna Fokke (NED), Mumtaz Khan (IND), Jip Dicke (NED), Amy Lawton (AUS).

Men: Miles Bukkens (NED), Timothée Clément (FRA), Sanjay (IND), Pau Cunill (ESP), Rizwan Ali (PAK)

FIH Coach of the Year Award:

Women: Janneke Schopman (Team India), Jamilon Mülders (Team Netherlands), Katrina Powell (Team Australia), Raoul Ehren (Team Belgium), Adrian Lock (Team Spain).

Men: Jeroen Delmee (Team Netherlands), Michel van den Heuvel (Team Belgium), Graham Reid (Team India), Garreth Ewing (Team South Africa), Frederic Be (Team France).

Catherine J. Martinez